Not a Member? Join

Log in

Ohio Association for Career and Technical Education

  • Home
  • News
  • Mid-Term Election Overview/Highlights

Mid-Term Election Overview/Highlights

November 08, 2018 10:45 AM | Ohio ACTE (Administrator)

 The mid-term election saw Ohio Republican statewide executive office candidates win by large margins.  Mike DeWine & running mate Jon Husted defeated Richard Cordray / Betty Sutton 50.66%-46.54%*.  All four “down-ticket” Republican statewide candidates—Dave Yost (Attorney General), Frank LaRose (Secretary of State), Keith Faber (Auditor), and Robert Sprague (Treasurer)—defeated their Democratic opponents by similar margins. 

Republicans also maintained control over the Ohio General Assembly.  Although Democrats gained five seats in the Ohio House of Representatives, Republicans retain a supermajority of 62-37.  The Democratic pick-ups included 3 seats in Franklin County and two in Northeast Ohio.  In the Ohio Senate, Republicans gained 1 seat, increasing their supermajority to 25-8.  

Republican victories at the state level did not, however, extend to the Ohio Supreme Court. Democrat Melody Stewart unseated incumbent Justice Mary DeGenaro, and Democrat Michael Donnelly defeated Craig Baldwin to replace outgoing Supreme Court Justice Terrence O’Donnell.  The state’s currently all-Republican high court will now be 5-2.

At the Federal level, Democrats are projected to gain roughly 37 seats in the U.S. House of Representatives and take control of the majority.  However, Republicans are projected to gain 2 seats in the U.S. Senate, increasing their majority to 53-47. All federal congressional incumbents from Ohio retained their seats, and those running to replace incumbent Republicans emerged victorious as well.

Ohio Governor / Statewide Races: Republicans swept all five statewide executive office races.

Governor/Lt. Governor: Republicans Mike DeWine/Jon Husted defeated Richard Cordray/Betty Sutton.

Attorney General: Republican Dave Yost defeated Steve Dettelbach

Secretary of State: Republican Frank LaRose defeated Kathleen Clyde.

Auditor: Republican Keith Faber defeated Zack Space.

Treasurer: Republican Robert Sprague defeated Rob Richardson.

- by Terrence O'Donnell and Will Vorys, Dickinson Wright PLLC

*Projections not yet confirmed and are subject to change.

Ohio Association for Career and Technical Education

38 Commerce Park Dr. Suite D, Westerville, Ohio
(614) 890-ACTE (2283)
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software