Not a Member? Join

Log in

Ohio Association for Career and Technical Education

Career TEchnical AND Adult Education News

<< First  < Prev   ...   60   61   62   63   64   Next >  Last >> 
  • August 02, 2010 11:15 AM | Anonymous

    Thirteen Ohio high schools were selected as 2010 High Schools That Work (HSTW) by the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB). Ohio leads the pack nationally, with more HSTW awards than any other state this year.


    The Ohio HSTW winners are among 62 high schools nationally being named to one of five SREB award categories, which are based on 2010 HSTW assessment and state performance data. Ohio schools received awards in three of the five categories. Seven Ohio schools won the Pacesetter School designation, five were given Gold Achievement Awards and one school was presented the Gold Improvement Award.


    Congratulations to the following Ohio schools being recognized as HSTW:


    HSTW Pacesetter Schools

    Hicksville High School, Hicksville Exempted Village School District (Defiance County)

       Little Miami High School, Little Miami Local School District (Warren County)

    •  Monroeville High School, Monroeville Local School District (Huron County)

    Norwalk High School, Norwalk City School District (Huron County)

    Scarlet Oaks Career Development Campus, Great Oaks Institute of Technology (Hamilton County)

    Vermilion High School, Vermilion Local School District (Erie County)

    Warren County Career Center (Warren County)


    HSTW Gold Achievement Award Schools

    Granville High School, Granville Exempted Village School District (Licking County)

    •  Springboro High School, Springboro Community City School District (Warren County)

    •  Sylvania Southview High School, Sylvania City School District (Lucas County)

    •  Talawanda High School, Talawanda City School District (Butler County)

    •  Xenia High School, Xenia Community City School District (Greene County)


    HSTW Gold Improvement Award School

    Greene County Career Center, Greene County


    These successful HSTW are outstanding models for other high schools in both Ohio and throughout the nation.  


    The SREB is a 32-state national network, with more than 1,200 high schools, 125 technology centers and 400 middle-grades schools that participate in initiatives designed to improve teaching, learning and school environments in high school and middle grades.


     For more information about HSTW, please visit

  • July 14, 2010 7:19 PM | Anonymous

    New superintendents at Ohio Career Centers:

    Richard Schoene - Belmont Harrison JVSD

    Brett Smith - Butler Technology and Career Development Schools

    Dan Schroer - Greene County Career Center

    Dennis Franks - Pickaway-Ross Career Center

    Eric Meredith - Pike County CTC

  • May 27, 2010 3:15 PM | Anonymous

    University System of Ohio TDN Advisory Committee members announced:


    Diana Gott, Lorain County JVS   

    Laurene Huffman, Washington State Community College 


    Pete Bednar, Lakeland Community College

    Ronald Bruner, C - TEC

    James Kalna, Columbus State Community College

    David Kleinschmidt, Ashland County West Holmes

    Amy Mast, University of Akron Wayne College

    Sonya Pluck, Madison Adult Career Center

    Ex Officio:

    Stacia Edwards, Ohio Board of Regents

    Annette McIver, USO TDN Resource Center

  • May 23, 2010 8:28 PM | Anonymous

    Manpower Inc. surveyed over 35,000 employers across 36 countries and territories during the first quarter of 2010 to determine the impact of talent shortages on today's labor markets and listed the top 10 most difficult jobs to fill. 

    1- Skilled Trades

    2 - Sales Representatives

    3 - Nurses

    4 - Technicians

    5 - Drivers

    6 - Restaurants & Hotel Staff

    7 - Management / Executives

    8 - Engineers

    9 - Doctors

    10 - Customer Service Representatives


  • May 08, 2010 3:45 PM | Anonymous

    Danielle Williams, Miami Valley Career and Technology Center student, is this year's Darrell Parks Scholarship winner.

    Read Danielle's Winning Essay

  • May 08, 2010 3:42 PM | Anonymous

     Congratulations to the 2010 Ohio ACTE Award Winners!  Read about the winners.

    Ambassador Award  - Kit Tyler - Four County Career Center  

    Image Award - Rick Theders - Great Oaks Career Campuses  

    Teacher of the Year - Larry Higgins - D. Russel Lee Career Technology Center

    Outstanding NEW Career and Technical Education Teacher - Frank Drain - Ohio Hi-Point Career Center

    Outstanding Career and Technical Educator - Alice Karen Hite - Mid-East Career and Technology Centers

    Outstanding Teacher in Community Service  - Crissy Lauterbach - Lakota East High School

    Ohio ACTE Outstanding Board Member Award - Gail Requardt - Mid-East Career and Technology Centers


<< First  < Prev   ...   60   61   62   63   64   Next >  Last >> 

Ohio Association for Career and Technical Education

38 Commerce Park Dr. Suite D, Westerville, Ohio
(614) 890-ACTE (2283)
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software