Not a Member? Join

Log in

Ohio Association for Career and Technical Education

  • Home
  • News
  • Ohio Schools Recognized by HSTW

Ohio Schools Recognized by HSTW

August 02, 2010 11:15 AM | Ohio ACTE (Administrator)

Thirteen Ohio high schools were selected as 2010 High Schools That Work (HSTW) by the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB). Ohio leads the pack nationally, with more HSTW awards than any other state this year.


The Ohio HSTW winners are among 62 high schools nationally being named to one of five SREB award categories, which are based on 2010 HSTW assessment and state performance data. Ohio schools received awards in three of the five categories. Seven Ohio schools won the Pacesetter School designation, five were given Gold Achievement Awards and one school was presented the Gold Improvement Award.


Congratulations to the following Ohio schools being recognized as HSTW:


HSTW Pacesetter Schools

Hicksville High School, Hicksville Exempted Village School District (Defiance County)

   Little Miami High School, Little Miami Local School District (Warren County)

•  Monroeville High School, Monroeville Local School District (Huron County)

Norwalk High School, Norwalk City School District (Huron County)

Scarlet Oaks Career Development Campus, Great Oaks Institute of Technology (Hamilton County)

Vermilion High School, Vermilion Local School District (Erie County)

Warren County Career Center (Warren County)


HSTW Gold Achievement Award Schools

Granville High School, Granville Exempted Village School District (Licking County)

•  Springboro High School, Springboro Community City School District (Warren County)

•  Sylvania Southview High School, Sylvania City School District (Lucas County)

•  Talawanda High School, Talawanda City School District (Butler County)

•  Xenia High School, Xenia Community City School District (Greene County)


HSTW Gold Improvement Award School

Greene County Career Center, Greene County


These successful HSTW are outstanding models for other high schools in both Ohio and throughout the nation.  


The SREB is a 32-state national network, with more than 1,200 high schools, 125 technology centers and 400 middle-grades schools that participate in initiatives designed to improve teaching, learning and school environments in high school and middle grades.


 For more information about HSTW, please visit

Ohio Association for Career and Technical Education

38 Commerce Park Dr. Suite D, Westerville, Ohio
(614) 890-ACTE (2283)
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software